Andy’s fish breading-copycat recipe   5 comments

So I was at the grocery store a few weeks ago and they were sampling Andy’s Fish Breading on Swahi.  Swahi is a Vietnamese catfish.  I think it’s Vietnamese anyway.   It’s a very cheap white fish that has a spicy bite to it.  I don’t like regular catfish because I think it just tastes dirty.  This on the other hand doesn’t and when made right it tastes very good.  My husband loves to beer batter it, but I tried the sample at grocery in the breading and I liked it so much better.  I believe it’s called country style.  It’s very similar to what my grandmother used to order at Captain D’s when I was younger.  After reading the ingredients in Andy’s Fish Breading and tasting I figured it would be so simple to make my own.  Since I’m very ill I had my husband make it for me last night.  Here’s the recipe minus the MSG:

Ingredients:

3 parts cornmeal to 1 parts flour

1/2 tbs garlic powder

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp pepper

1/2 tspseasoned salt

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp ginger

All the ingredients are based on how much fish or shrimp you need to batter.  These are all rough estimates of what was used in the batter.  No wet ingredients are involved at all.

Mix together.  Heat up enough oil to cover the bottom of a frying pan.  Dredge or shake the fish in the batter.  Fry until flaky.

Leftover batter-Hushpuppies

Take the leftover batter and add some sugar, a little more flour, and milk.  Buttermilk is the best, but regular or evaporated milk will do in a pinch.  Don’t forget to add water to the evaporated milk.  Mix the leftover until it’s a thick batter.  Then spoon it into the hot oil to make hush puppies.  They really come out more flat than round, but they are delicious.  It’s also a great way to use the rest of the batter.  They are a sweet and savory delicious hushpuppy.

Posted May 27, 2012 by laurapete in Fish

5 responses to “Andy’s fish breading-copycat recipe

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let
    you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not
    sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

  2. Thank you so much for the Recipe, I live in Denver and from St. Louis and we use Andy’s all the time there. I usually pack my suit cases with some, but I’m all out. Thanks again, Would you by chance have the mild recipe for the Chicken?

  3. ok thanks, dang it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

